posted 4 years ago

Decoded: New Mercedes-Benz Boot Lid Badges

Mercedes-Benz reveals new system for naming cars

Mercedes-Benz plans to simplify the names of its cars to help motorists place them in context within its fleet.

That fleet is likely to include thirty models worldwide by 2020. The system will incorporate a series of upper-case letters based on five core models, the: A-Class, B-Class, C-Class, E-Class and S-Class. Sports-utility models, for example, – in “tribute to the legendary G-Class” – will start with GL. The L make names “easier to pronounce”. GL will be followed by a third letter to show the relationship to a core model:

  • GLA = GL A-Class
  • GLC = GL C-Class
  • GLE = GL E-Class
  • GLE Coupé = GL E-Class Coupé
  • GLS = GL S-Class

CL will indicate that the vehicle is a four-door coupé and the third letter links to a core model. For example, CLA and CLA Shooting Brake and CLS and CLS Shooting Brake.

Mercedes-Benz roadster models will be badged SL with – once again – a third letter linking to the relevant core model. The Mercedes-Benz SLK will become SLC, for example.

The type of engine will be indicated by a lower case letter (with the exception of petrols):

  • c = compressed natural gas
  • d = diesel
  • e = electric
  • f = fuel cell
  • h = hybrid

More clarity

Head of Marketing Communications for Mercedes-Benz Passenger Cars, Dr Jens Thiemer, said: "More clarity, more transparency, more consistency for Mercedes-Benz customers – we are convinced that our new nomenclature will support us in achieving this objective.”

“The logic built up on the basis of the core model series will enable our customers to find their way round our growing product portfolio far better".