posted 7 years ago

F1 Australian GP Results

Button takes dominant win at Australian GP

With Lewis Hamilton looking to erase his previous race demons at the Australian GP from pole position, it was team mate Jenson Button who took the lead into the first corner, a position he maintained to the chequered flag.

A slow start by the Lotus Renault of Romain Grosjean and Red Bull’s Mark Webber meant the Mercedes pairing of Michael Schumacher and Nico Rosberg were both chasing down the McLaren Mercedes’. Webber’s start caused a concertina effect which resulted in homeboy Daniel Ricciardo and Williams new boy, Bruno Senna hitting each other, with Nico Hulkenberg a retirement from the collision. A few laps later and the elation of taking 3rd on the grid for Grosjean had quickly vanished, and after a battle with Pastor Maldonado the Frenchman went out of the race with suspension damage.

By lap 9, Button was on a mission and had pulled out a 3.811 lead on Hamilton. Michael Schumacher was struggling with gearbox problems, taking an excursion across the grass, then coasting back to the pit lane to retire from the race.

Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso was having a particularly good race, having qualified back in 12th, due to the use of his favourable hard tyres. Getting into the top 5 was a welcome return for the Italian team.

The safety car was deployed on lap 37 as the Caterham Renault car of Vitaly Petrov was stranded on the home straight straight, which resulted with a lot of pitstop activity. On the restart, with 17 laps left, it was Button still leading the way, followed by Vettel and Hamilton.

Senna clashed again, this time with Ferrari’s Felipe Massa, the former coming away with a puncture and forcing both to retire. Maldonado hit the wall on the final lap chasing Fernando Alonso, but it was Button that crossed the line taking a dominant win, 2.139 seconds ahead of the Red Bull of Vettel.

The Red Bull driver had a fairly quiet race, and despite a brief grass-tracking moment, the German still managed to separate the McLaren Mercedes duo and took a hard fought 2nd after qualifying out of the top 5. Lewis Hamilton took a disappointing 3rd, having showed such early promise in qualifying. Struggling with wheel spin at the start he never looked like threatening his team mate.

Championship returnee, Lotus Renault’s Kimi Raikkonen took a solid 7th despite a disastrous qualifying, which saw him go out in Q1. Button dominated the season opener, winning the Australian GP for a third time. Leaving main rivals in his wake, the Brit will look to continue his form at the Malaysian GP next time out.

Australian GP Results

1. Jenson Button Britain McLaren-Mercedes 58 laps 1hr 34m 09.565s
2. Sebastian Vettel Germany Red Bull-Renault +00m 02.1s
3. Lewis Hamilton Britain McLaren-Mercedes +00m 04.0s
4. Mark Webber Australia Red Bull-Renault +00m 04.5s
5. Fernando Alonso Spain Ferrari-Ferrari +00m 21.5s
6. Kamui Kobayashi Japan Sauber-Ferrari +00m 36.7s
7. Kimi Raikkonen Finland Lotus-Renault +00m 38.0s
8. Sergio Perez Mexico Sauber-Ferrari +00m 39.4s
9. Daniel Ricciardo Australia Toro Rosso-Ferrari +00m 39.5s
10. Paul di Resta Britain Force India-Mercedes +00m 39.7s

11. Jean-Eric Vergne France Toro Rosso-Ferrari +00m 39.8s
12. Nico Rosberg Germany Mercedes-Mercedes +00m 57.6s
13. Pastor Maldonado Venezuela Williams-Renault +1 lap
14. Timo Glock Germany Virgin-Cosworth +1 lap
15. Charles Pic France Virgin-Cosworth +5 laps
16. Bruno Senna Brazil Williams-Renault +6 laps

Rtd. Felipe Massa Brazil Ferrari-Ferrari 46 laps completed
Rtd. Heikki Kovalainen Finland Caterham-Renault 38 laps completed
Rtd. Vitaly Petrov Russia Caterham-Renault 34 laps completed
Rtd. Michael Schumacher Germany Mercedes-Mercedes 10 laps completed
Rtd. Romain Grosjean France Lotus-Renault 1 lap completed
Rtd. Nico Hulkenberg Germany Force India-Mercedes 0 laps compelted

DNS. Pedro de la Rosa Spain HRT-Cosworth Did not qualify
DNS. Narain Karthikeyan India HRT-Cosworth Did not qualify