posted 6 years ago

F1 Bahrain Qualifying Result

With all eyes on what has been happening off track in Bahrain, the drivers took to the Sakhir circuit for qualifying.

With all eyes on what has been happening off track in Bahrain, the drivers took to the Sakhir circuit for qualifying for round 4 of the Formula 1 World Championship.

Jenson Button set the pace on his first foray onto the track with a 1.34.792. The winner last time out in China, Nico Rosberg, had an excursion off track, with Lewis Hamilton and Mark Webber also struggling to stay on the circuit.

With 5 minutes of Q1 remaining it was the Lotus Renault cars of Romain Grosjean and Kimi Raikkonen leading the way on the prime tyres, 1.34.041 the time to beat.

Sergio Perez took the top spot with a 1.33.814 as the chequered flag fell, but the biggest casualty was Michael Schumacher who was knocked out by the Caterham Renault of Hekki Kovalainen in the dying seconds. His team made the error of not sending him back out for another flying lap and the Finn took advantage of the track conditions to jump out of the drop zone.

Drivers out in Q1 were: Michael Schumacher, Jean-Eric Vergne, Vitaly Petrov, Charles Pic, Pedro de la Rosa, Timo Glock, Narain Karthikeyan.

Lewis Hamilton showed his hand in Q2 with a 1.33.209 and with the flag shown, quite a few drivers had to get in their fastest laps to get into Q3. Fernando Alonso was lying down in 13th before he snatched a last gasp 4th spot, but his team-mate, Felipe Massa continued his poor form and could only manage 14th.

Q2 drivers eliminated were: Kimi Raikkonen, Kamui Kobayashi, Nico Hulkenberg, Felipe Massa, Bruno Senna, Heikki Kovalainen, Pastor Maldonado Qualifying was all about timing runs right and Sebastian Vettel took his first pole position of the season for the Bahrain Grand Prix with a time of 1.32.422. Hamilton split the Red Bulls whilst Daniel Ricciardo put in a great performance to take 6th on the grid.

Top 10

Sebastian Vettel
Lewis Hamilton
Mark Webber
Jenson Button
Nico Rosberg
Daniel Ricciardo
Romain Grosjean
Sergio Perez
Fernando Alonso
Paul Di Resta