posted 6 years ago

F1 British GP Qualifying Result

Qualifying for the British Grand Prix got underway at a wet Silverstone circuit

Qualifying for the British Grand Prix got underway at a wet Silverstone circuit. With changeable weather some of the top drivers were struggling to get a clear lap in Q1. With the top position changing on every lap completed, Jenson Button was nowhere near the front and trying to avoid being knocked out in the first qualifying session.

Meanwhile Sebastian Vettel was leading the way on a 1:46.279 in tricky conditions, where part of the track was drying, while some parts remained wet.

With the chequered flag out, Timo Glock spun onto the start/finish straight bringing out yellow flags for any drivers on a hot lap. In his home GP, Button failed to get into Q2.

Out of Q1 were: Jenson Button, Vitaly Petrov, Heikki Kovalainen, Timo Glock, Pedro de la Rosa, Narain Karthikeyan, Charles Pic

With heavy rain in Q2, drivers were struggling to stay on track and first one off was Michael Schumacher as he slid off at Becketts in his Mercedes. Fernando Alonso followed suit on the Hangar Straight, narrowly avoiding the wall to continue with qualifying.

With slower lap times, Sergio Perez was topping the times with a 1:59.092, but with 6 minutes left, the red flag was brought out due to the torrid conditions.

After a lengthy stoppage, the drivers were back out and in the remaining minutes of the session it was Hamilton that got the fastest time with a 1:54.897.

Q2 losers were: Paul Di Resta , Kamui Kobayashi, Nico Rosberg, Daniel Ricciardo, Bruno Senna, Jean-Eric Vergne, Sergio Perez

With dark skies looming over the circuit, it was Fernando Alonso on the intermediate tyres that was setting the pace with a 1:53.699. With Ferrari choosing the right tyre at the right moment, Alonso was going quicker every lap. But with less than a minute to go, Mark Webber took over at the top and at the flag it was the Spaniard that retook pole position for the British Grand Prix.

  1. Fernando Alonso
  2. Mark Webber
  3. Michael Schumacher
  4. Sebastian Vettel
  5. Felipe Massa
  6. Kimi Raikkonen
  7. Pastor Maldonado
  8. Lewis Hamilton
  9. Nico Hulkenberg
  10. Romain Grosjean