posted 6 years ago

F1 China Race Result

Nico Rosberg took his first ever win in Formula One, a race he dominated from start to finish.

With the Mercedes of Nico Rosberg taking his first ever pole and the team locking out the front row with his team mate Michael Schumacher, the third round of the Formula 1 Championship took to the Shanghai circuit.

The younger German made a perfect start to lead into the first corner with Schumacher following closely behind. Jenson Button also moved up two places and was chasing down the Mercedes pair.

Vettel dropped to 15th after a terrible qualifying which saw him start 11th on the grid.

Stuck in traffic, Mark Webber made a very early pitstop on lap 7 in his Red Bull. Returning to the track and running in clean air, he was the fastest man on track on the medium-hard compound tyre.

While Rosberg started to pull out a 3 second lead, the battle for 2nd was a close affair between Schumacher, Button, Kimi Raikkonen, Lewis Hamilton and Sergio Perez.

Raikkonen and Hamilton both took to the pits and battling as they exited, it was the Brit that got ahead. Joining the track just behind Webber it was the former China race winner, Raikkonen that produced a great bit of wheel to wheel racing with the Australian going into turn one.

The Mercedes team had a disaster in the pits with Schumacher; one of the mechanics failed to tighten the front right tyre causing the German to retire out on track on lap 13.

With Perez and Felipe Massa briefly taking the lead, due to not having pitted, it was Rosberg that retook the lead maintaining a steady gap ahead of Button and Hamilton.

Having made his second pitstop, Button was battling the Williams of Pastor Maldonado and using DRS made a text book overtake on the Venezuelan.

Perez, Hamilton and Webber were fighting for the final step of the podium and the added pressure from behind made the Mexican lock up a few times to defend his position. With Webber pitting, the Ferrari of Fernando Alonso joined the battle.

Button finally took the lead having got the gap down to him and Rosberg to 18 seconds. With the German going for his second pitstop, Button took to the front looking for his second win of the season.

Further down the field and the battle was now for 5th, with the underperforming Massa leading the pack ahead of Raikkonen, Kamui Kobayashi, Vettel and Romain Grosjean.

Button had a terrible pitstop dropping him down to 6th, a move that ruined his aim of taking the top step.

The race for 2nd on the podium saw a battle of the former World Champions between Raikkonen, Vettel and Button.

Grosjean and Maldonado continued their on track battle from Australia and despite hitting each other twice, the Frenchman managed to stay ahead. A frantic few laps saw Vettel jump up to 2nd, as Raikkonen struggled with his tyres dropping all the way down to 14th. With Nico Rosberg eeking out a huge 25 second gap, Button overtook Vettel determined to hunt him down, but it was too little, too late.

Nico Rosberg took his first ever win in Formula One, a race he dominated from start to finish. Hamilton took the final step to increase his lead at the top of the Championship table.

  1. Nico Rosberg
  2. Jenson Button
  3. Lewis Hamilton
  4. Mark Webber
  5. Sebastian Vettel
  6. Romain Grosjean
  7. Bruno Senna
  8. Pastor Maldonado
  9. Fernando Alonso
  10. Kamui Kobayashi
  11. Sergio Perez
  12. Paul di Resta
  13. Felipe Massa
  14. Kimi Raikkonen
  15. Nico Hulkenberg
  16. J Vergne
  17. Daniel Ricciardo
  18. Vitaly Petrov
  19. Timo Glock
  20. Charles Pic
  21. Pedro de la Rosa
  22. Narain Karthikeyan
  23. Heikki Kovalainen