posted 6 years ago

F1 GP Bahrain Race Result

Sebastian Vettel dominated the race

Despite protests on the island the drivers took to the circuit to race at Bahrain. Sebastian Vettel dominated the race, with only Kimi Raikkonen coming close to stopping him take the top step.

Nico Rosberg had started on pole but by the third lap was overtaken by the Red Bull driver. Rosberg finished a disappointing ninth after his surprising qualifying performance, which also saw him make contact with Mark Webber during the race.

His team mate, Lewis Hamilton fared better and Webber seemed to be the opponent the Mercedes drivers wanted to do battle with. The Australian was looking likely to take fifth, but a last minute lunge from Hamilton going into Turn 1 on the last lap, made Webber concede the position. This also enabled Sergio Perez to get ahead of the Red Bull driver and he took sixth.

The McLaren driver finally showed some promise during the race and even had a battle with his team mate, Jenson Button. The Brit had to radio in to tell his team that Perez needed to calm down after tapping his right rear wheel.

Fernando Alonso had a race to forget for Ferrari when his car had a DRS rear wing flap issue. He eventually finished eighth, but had to race with no DRS. Felipe Massa fared no better in the second Ferrari. He had a tyre failure early on and then a puncture near the end. He crossed the line in fifteenth.

The Lotus pairing of Raikkonen and Romain Grosjean had a good race for the team taking the final two steps on the podium. It was Paul di Resta in the Force India, that seven laps from the end looked to be taking third. But Grosjean got the better of the Scot and he had to settle for fourth.

The teams head to Europe for the next race in three weeks time in Spain.

  1. Sebastian Vettel
  2. Kimi Raikkonen
  3. Romain Grosjean
  4. Paul di Resta
  5. Lewis Hamilton
  6. Sergio Perez
  7. Mark Webber
  8. Fernando Alonso
  9. Nico Rosberg
  10. Jenson Button
  11. Pastor Maldonado
  12. Nico Hulkenberg
  13. Adrian Sutil
  14. Valtteri Bottas
  15. Felipe Massa
  16. Daniel Ricciardo
  17. Charles Pic
  18. Esteban Gutierrez
  19. Jules Bianchi
  20. Max Chilton
  21. Giedo van der Garde