posted 5 years ago

F1 GP Brazil Race Result

Vettel Wins Again in Brazil

The final race of the 2013 season got underway in Brazil.  Nico Rosberg had the edge over Sebastian Vettel into the first corner as racing got underway at the Interlagos circuit.  Fernando Alonso was also in the mix up to 4th and then got past Lewis Hamilton for 3rd.  The Brit also fell victim to Webber to drop further down the pack.

By lap 2 Vettel had got into the lead with a 1.4 second gap over Rosberg.  Romain Grosjean had a shortened race as he pulled over in his Lotus with a blown engine.

Mark Webber, in his last Formula One race was looking to take a final win and on lap 7 overtook Rosberg for 3rd to chase down Alonso and Vettel in front.   In his last race for Ferrari, Felipe Massa received a drive-through penalty for crossing the white line on pit entry, a move he wasn’t happy about as he gesticulated to the stewards as he came into the pits.

Jenson Button was looking to finish his season on high and was up to 5th, while Vettel’s lead was up to 12.828 seconds in a race he was dominating.   Valtteri Bottas and Hamilton suffered a collision, the Finn having his tyre removed clear off the rim, with Hamilton then suffering a puncture.  The Mercedes driver then got a drive-through penalty for causing it.

Confusion in the pit lane saw Vettel waiting for tyres, as Webber also appeared to queue behind the German as the Red Bull Racing Team were unprepared for their World Champion driver.   Charles Pic ended his season with Caterham with suspension damage.  Pastor Maldonado was tipped into a spin by Toro Rosso driver Jean-Eric Vergne, as the Frenchman had the line going into the first corner.

Vettel was well on his way to 13 wins in a season with 5 laps to go.  Webber was in 2nd followed by Alonso.

As the chequered flag dropped, Sebastian took the win with Mark Webber and Fernando Alonso taking the lower steps on the podium.

  1. Sebastian Vettel
  2. Mark Webber
  3. Fernando Alonso
  4. Jenson Button
  5. Nico Rosberg
  6. Sergio Perez
  7. Felipe Massa
  8. Nico Hulkenberg
  9. Lewis Hamilton
  10. Daniel Ricciardo
  11. Paul Di Resta
  12. Esteban Guterriez
  13. Adrian Sutil
  14. Heikki Kovalainen
  15. Jean-Eric Vergne
  16. Pastor Maldonado
  17. Jules Bianchi
  18. Giedo Van Der Garde
  19. Max Chilton