posted 5 years ago

F1 GP Canada Race Result

Vettel takes first Canadian win

Sebastian Vettel made the perfect start to the Canadian F1 GP race and after just one lap was already 2 seconds ahead of Lewis Hamilton in 2nd. Valtteri Bottas who started in 3rd in his Williams, failed to capitalise on his great qualifying result and had already gone backwards to 5th on the first lap.

Adrian Sutil fell victim to a 360 degree spin as he tried to overtake Bottas at Turn Three and a few drivers had to take to the grass to avoid his spinning Force India.

By lap 13, Vettel had a 7.4 second lead and drivers started their first pit stops. Pastor Maldonado got a drive through penalty for hitting the back of Sutil going into the hairpin.

A good battle between Nico Rosberg, Mark Webber and Fernando Alonso for 3rd provided some entertainment at the Gilles Villeneuve Circuit. Webber got past Rosberg down the back straight, then Alonso overtook the German on the start-finish straight.

Webber then lost part of his front end plate trying to lap Giedo van der Garde, a move which cost the Caterham driver as he ignored blue flags and was handed a 10-second stop-go penalty.

He later retired from the race along with Nico Hulkenberg after a coming together which broke his wing and Hulkenberg’s suspension.

By lap 50 Vettel had an 18 second lead, but two laps later and a loss of concentration saw him go for a trip across the grass at Turn One. He still got back on track 14 seconds ahead of Hamilton.

Jenson Button was having a woeful race back in 13th, just a place behind his team mate, Sergio Perez.

With 10 laps remaining, Hamilton had a fast charging Alonso behind him fighting for 2nd place. Half a second behind him, the Ferrari driver was closing the gap on every lap and eventually got ahead going into Turn One.

With three laps remaining, Esteban Gutierrez brought out a yellow flag when he hit the wall at Turn Two.

Sebastian Vettel took a dominant win crossing the finish line 15 seconds ahead of Fernando Alonso. Lewis Hamilton took the final step on the podium.

1. Sebastian Vettel
2. Fernando Alonso
3. Lewis Hamilton
4. Mark Webber
5. Nico Rosberg
6. Jean-Eric Vergne
7. Paul di Resta
8. Felipe Massa
9. Kimi Raikkonen
10. Adrian Sutil
Sergio Perez
Jenson Button
Romain Grosjean
Valtteri Bottas
Daniel Ricciardo
Pastor Maldonado
Jules Bianchi
Charles Pic
Max Chilton