posted 4 years ago

F1 GP Singapore Race Result

Vettel Dominates Under The Lights Of Singapore

The Formula One World Championship took to the street circuit of Singapore as Sebastian Vettel started on pole.  Despite Nico Rosberg fighting him to the first corner and getting ahead, Vettel got him back when Rosberg ran wide.

Fernando Alonso made the best start going from 7th up to 3rd.  Vettel was on a mission though and by the end of lap 5 had a 5 second lead over Rosberg, with just 10 seconds separating 3rd place Alonso to 10th place Sergio Perez.

Lap 10 saw Kimi Raikkonen the first driver to pit for the first time emerging on another set of super-soft tyres.  Mark Webber was having problems with his rear tyres and pitted for a change to medium ones.

With Paul Di Resta not having stopped, he was in 3rd with a frustrated Alonso trying to get past as he wanted to close the gap on Rosberg in 2nd.  On lap 21 the Force India driver finally pitted as Alonso looked to reduce an eight second gap.

The safety car was deployed on lap 25 as Toro Rosso driver Daniel Ricciardo hit the wall where the track goes underneath the grandstand.  With drivers taking advantage of the safety car period and pitting, it wasn’t until lap 31 that racing got going again.

Vettel continued to dominate and once the safety car had left the circuit, he had a three second lead over Rosberg in 2nd, with Webber 3rd, Lewis Hamilton 4th and Alonso in 5th.

Romain Grosjean who looked a podium contender had to pit for an air consumption problem.  Taking nearly a minute to sort out he returned to the track at the back, but a few laps later he had to retire from the race.

Webber pitted on lap 40 choosing another set of medium tyres to get to the end and rejoined the race in 13th.  With Vettel leading by 22 seconds, Rosberg pitted two laps later.  With drivers still to pit, Alonso was 2nd with Button 3rd and Raikkonen 4th, those three looking to get to the end of the race without a second pitstop.

Further down the field Esteban Guterriez was backing up the chasing Webber, Rosberg and Hamilton for 7th.  Within the space of a lap he was overtaken by all three and then Di Resta and Massa to fall all the way down to 12th and out of the points in his Sauber.

Button looked to be scoring his first podium of the season in his McLaren but an overtake by Raikkonen saw the Brit lose out.  Webber then got past to take 4th.

Di Resta put his car into the barriers at Turn Seven bringing out yellow flags, as he retired yet again.

Webber had engine problems and dropping 8 seconds behind Raikkonen then had to retire his stricken Red Bull.

Sebastian Vettel won the Singapore Grand Prix, 32 seconds ahead of Fernando Alonso and Kimi Raikkonen.

  1. Sebastian Vettel
  2. Fernando Alonso
  3. Kimi Raikkonen
  4. Nico Rosberg
  5. Lewis Hamilton
  6. Felipe Massa
  7. Jenson Button
  8. Sergio Perez
  9. Nico Hulkenberg
  10. Adrian Sutil
  11. Pastor Maldonado
  12. Esteban Guterriez
  13. Jean-Eric Vergne
  14. Valterri Bottas
  15. Giedo Van Der Garde
  16. Max Chilton
  17. Jules Bianchi
  18. Charles Pic