posted 7 years ago

F1 Monaco GP Race Results

Sebastian Vettel got a great start at the Monaco grand prix and lead from pole into the first corner.

Sebastian Vettel got a great start at the Monaco grand prix and lead from pole into the first corner. Fernando Alonso also got a great start and managed to move from fourth to third overtaking Mark Webber. Michael Schumacher had to fit a new nose cone to his car on lap 12, after contact with Lewis Hamilton at the start of the race.

Lap 15 saw the first scheduled pit stops of the race, with Jenson Button stopping first, followed by Sebastian Vettel and Mark Webber, whose pit stops didn’t go smoothly after a stuck tyre blanket slowed down Vettel’s stop which in turn slowed down Mark Webber’s stop as well. Red Bulls slow pit stop then gave Jenson Button the lead. Lewis Hamilton and Felipe Massa had a coming together at the hairpin, and then in the tunnel Massa gets on the dirty side of the track and crashes into the barriers. Michael Schumacher also retires from the race after suspected engine overheating. Sebastian Vettel then re-takes the lead off Button on lap 33 as Button comes in to pit.

Sebastian Vettel was expected to pit just after Jenson Button did, but decided to carry onto the end of the race with the set of harder compound tyres he put on the car on lap 16 so he wouldn’t lose first place.. Lap 71 saw a massive accident involving numerous cars with Jaime Alguersuari and Vitaly Petrov going into the wall at the swimming pool chicane, all the cars got out of line when Adrian Sutil slid into the barriers before the chicane and got a right rear puncture. The race was then red flagged while Vitaly Petrov was recovered from his car, this gave all the teams a chance to change old tyres without losing any track position, this benefited Sebastian Vettel the most as his tyres were 54 laps old. The re-start saw everyone keep their positions apart from Pastor Maldonado who connected with Lewis Hamilton coming down to Saint Devote, and ended up into the barriers. Sebastian Vettel lead to the final lap and won the Monaco grand prix, followed by Fernando Alonso, Jenson Button, Mark Webber, Kamui Kobayashi, Lewis Hamilton, Adrian Sutil, Nick Heidfeld, Rubens Barrichello, Sebastian Buemi, Nico Rosberg, Paul Di Resta, Jarno Trulli, Heikki Kovalainen, Jerome D’Ambrosio, Vitantonio Liuzzi and Narain Karthikeyan.