posted 6 years ago

F1 Spanish GP Qualifying

Qualifying session one started with the majority of drivers going out on hard tyres.

Qualifying session one started with the majority of drivers going out on hard tyres. Vitaly Petrov set the benchmark time early with a 1:25.621, only to be beat a few minutes later by Jenson Button with a 1:24.708. Red Bull quickly beat Buttons time with both Mark Webber and Sebastian Vettel, Webber achieved the faster time of the two with a 1:23.619.

Ferrari and Mercedes GP both went out on soft tyres and set the fastest times for the session with Michael Schumacher on P1, although this produced a problem for both teams as they ended up wasting a set of soft tyres they could of used in the race. Nick Heidfeld did not set a time and will start at the back of the grid after suffering from an engine fire in practice 3, Lotus Renault did try to rebuild his car in time but missed Q1 by a couple of minutes. Drivers who didn’t make it through to Q2 were, Nick Heidfeld, Jerome d’Ambrosio, Narain Karthikeyan, Vitantonio Liuzzi, Timo Glock, Rubens Barrichello and Jarno Trulli. Rubens Barrichello suffered from a gearbox problem and failed to produce a fast time.

Qualifying session two started with both Red Bull drivers going out on soft tyres and setting the first sub ‘1:22.00’ times, Sebastian Vettel set the faster time with a 1:21.540, the rest of the field couldn’t get any where near Red Bull, the closest was Jenson Button who was around 0.5 slower than Mark Webber. Drivers who didn’t make it through to Q3 were, Adrian Sutil, Paul Di Resta, Heikki Kovalainen, Kamui Kobayashi, Jaime Alguesuari, Sergio Perez and Sebastian Buemi.

McLaren and Red Bull were the first cars on track in Q3, both teams running their drivers on new sets of soft ‘Option’ tyres. McLaren set fast times with Jenson Button setting a time of 1:21.996 and Hamilton a 1:21.961. Red Bull then smashed those times firstly with Vettel doing a 1:21.181, and then Mark Webber a 1:20.981. Sundays race will start like this, P1 Mark Webber, P2 Sebastian Vettel, P3 Lewis Hamilton, P4 Fernando Alonso, P5 Jenson Button, P6 Vitaly Petrov, P7 Nico Rosberg, P8 Felipe Massa, P9 Pastor Maldonado and P10 Michael Schumacher.