posted 5 years ago

Ferrari's Fernando Alonso Wins the 2013 F1 Spanish Grand Prix

F1 GP Spanish Race Result

Fernando Alonso gave his home fans plenty to celebrate when he took his second win of the season in a dominant display in Barcelona. Starting 5th on the grid he made a good start to get past Kimi Raikkonen in the Lotus and by the end of the lap had also got past his former team mate Lewis Hamilton. In what became a race about tyre strategy, Ferrari timed it all perfectly and by lap 14 Alonso had taken the lead from Sauber’s Esteban Gutierrez who had yet to pit.

In the other Ferrari, Felipe Massa took a well-deserved final step on the podium, after starting in 9th due to his grid penalty for impeding Mark Webber during qualifying. Raikkonen split the team mates finishing 9.3 seconds behind Alonso.

Red Bull struggled to keep up with their rivals and Sebastian Vettel had to be happy with 4th, while Mark Webber finished behind him in 5th.

Despite being on pole, Nico Rosberg had problems with tyres and got to the line in 6th in what was a disappointing race for Mercedes after their dominance in qualifying. Lewis Hamilton had a race to forget in a car that just couldn’t keep up the pace with the frontrunners and after dropping all the way down to 15th, he managed to take a lowly 12th, just head of Force India.

Pastor Maldonado won last year, but in this race it wasn’t going to be repeated as he got a drive-through penalty for speeding in the pit lane and finished 14th. Nico Hulkenberg wasn’t too happy with his Sauber team as they released him into the path of Jean-Eric Vergne in the pit lane. He had to make a stop for a new nose and then a ten second stop-and-go penalty.

More drama came from the pit lane as Giedo van der Garde lost a rear wheel because his Caterham team didn’t secure it properly. The team were finded €10,000.

Vettel still leads the championship on 89 points, with Raikkonen on 85 and Alonso has now moved up to 3rd with 72 points.

The next race on the calendar is the street circuit of Monte Carlo on 26th May.

2013 Spanish Grand Prix Classified Results

1. Fernando Alonso
2. Kimi Raikkonen
3. Felipe Massa
4. Sebastian Vettel
5. Mark Webber
6. Nico Rosberg
7. Paul di Resta
8. Jenson Button
9. Sergio Perez
10. Daniel Ricciardo
11. Esteban Gutierrez
12. Lewis Hamilton
13. Adrian Sutil
14. Pastor Maldonado
15. Nico Hulkenberg
16. Valtteri Bottas
17. Charles Pic
18. Jules Bianchi
19. Max Chilton

For Official Race Times Visit: