posted 5 years ago

Formula 1 Spanish Grand Prix Qualifying Result

Mercedes dominated qualifying for the Spanish Grand Prix

Mercedes dominated qualifying for the Spanish Grand Prix as Nico Rosberg took his second pole of the season. His team mate Lewis Hamilton will line up next to him on the grid with Sebastian Vettel in 3rd.

Jenson Button had a session to forget as he only managed 14th and his fellow McLaren driver, Sergio Perez made it to Q3 and 9th. Pastor Maldonado won last year but there is unlikely to be a fairytale ending in the race tomorrow as he could only get his Williams to 18th.

In the second Red Bull, Mark Webber was 8th just behind the Lotus of Romain Grosjean. His team mate Kimi Raikkonen was 4th, just ahead of Fernando Alonso and Felipe Massa.

Esteban Gutierrez, driving for Sauber was later dropped to 19th on the grid for impeding Raikkonen, whilst Massa was also handed a three-place penalty and starts tomorrow from 9th.

1. Nico Rosberg
2. Lewis Hamilton
3. Sebastian Vettel
4. Kimi Raikkonen
5. Fernando Alonso
6. Felipe Massa
7. Romain Grosjean
8. Mark Webber
9. Sergio Perez
10. Paul di Resta
11. Daniel Ricciardo
12. Jean-Eric Vergne
13. Adrian Sutil
14. Jenson Button
15. Nico Hulkenberg
16. Esteban Guterriez
17. Valtteri Bottas
18. Pastor Maldonado
19. Giedo van der Garde
20. Jules Bianchi
21. Max Chilton
22. Charles Pic