posted 5 years ago

Japan F1 GP Race Result

Formula One Japanse Grand Prix Race Resuls

With Red Bull drivers, Sebastian Vettel and Mark Webber locking out the front row of the grid, it was Kamui Kobayashi that made a great start to jump up from third to second.

A disastrous start for Fernando Alonso resulted in him bringing out a safety car and a second DNF of the season, as he was involved in a battle with the Lotus Renault of Kimi Raikkonen from the line. The Spaniard ended up on the grass and came back on to the track in the path of the other cars.

Also affected by the incident was Nico Rosberg, which caused him to retire. Meanwhile a separate collision between Romain Grosjean and Mark Webber saw them both make a trip to the pits as the Frenchman ploughed into the back of the Australian.

At the restart, Vettel led ahead of Kobayashi, Jenson Button and Felipe Massa.

On a flyer, was Sergio Perez who tries to go around Raikkonen at Turn One, but ends up running wide, then goes up the inside of Lewis Hamilton at the hairpin to take sixth.

The stewards implemented a stop-go penalty for Grosjean for his contact with Webber and he returned to the track down in 22nd place.

Lap 13 saw the first pit stops and Vettel pulled a lead of 11.2 seconds over Massa and Hamilton.

Button reported a problem with his gearbox and considering he’d had a five-place penalty for having it replaced, it didn’t look good for the Brit.

Perez saw his race end up in the gravel, as getting out of the shape at the hairpin he got caught out by Hamilton in front. Avoiding the back of the driver he’s replacing next year at McLaren, he ventured off track.

Another drive-through penalty was handed out, this time to Bruno Senna for hitting Rosberg at the start.

Lap 30 saw drivers in for their second stops and Button ends up with a problem with the right rear and fails to rejoin the race in front of Kobayashi, in their battle for third.

Announcing his retirement from the sport for a second time during the week, Michael Schumacher was aiming to get in the top ten to score some points in his last few races for Mercedes. But Daniel Ricciardo in his Toro Rosso was not making it easy for the German.

Sebastian Vettel dominated to take the win, while Felipe Massa took his first podium since 2010. Kamui Kobayashi held off Jenson Button to take third in his home race.

1. Sebastian Vettel
2. Felipe Massa
3. Kamui Kobayashi
4. Jenson Button
5. Lewis Hamilton
6. Kimi Raikkonen
7. Nico Hulkenberg
8. Pastor Maldonado
9. Mark Webber
10. Daniel Ricciardo
11. Michael Schumacher
12. Paul Di Resta
13. Jean-Eric Vergne
14. Bruno Senna
15. Heikki Kovalainen
16. Timo Glock
17. Vitaly Petrov
18. Pedro de la Rosa