posted 6 years ago

Texan F1 GP Result

The Formula One World Championship rolled into Texas with all eyes on Sebastian Vettel and Fernando Alonso as they continued to battle for the crown.

The Formula One World Championship rolled into Texas with all eyes on Sebastian Vettel and Fernando Alonso as they continued to battle for the crown.

With Vettel on pole, Ferrari made a late decision for Felipe Massa to incur a five place penalty, by deliberately breaking the gearbox seal so that Alonso would move up a place to 7th, to start on the clean line of the track.

Alonso made a blinding start to get up to 4th, while Mark Webber got past 2nd placed Lewis Hamilton. His team-mate, Jenson Button had a terrible start falling from 12th to 16th.

By lap 3, Hamilton was battling to get back past Webber as Vettel was pulling out a two second lead at the front. A move from the Brit saw him run wide and a lap later got past the Australian down the long straight.

Michael Schumacher was again not having a good race and after starting 5th, by lap seven he was down to 10th and battling hard with Paul Di Resta and Sergio Perez.

Romain Grosjean was the first driver to lose grip on the twisty circuit and narrowly avoided beaching his Lotus in the gravel at Turn 19 after putting a wheel on the kerb.

Hamilton was reeling in Vettel and the lead had dropped to 1.3 seconds by lap 12. Nico Hulkenberg, in 5th was doing well to keep Kimi Raikkonen behind him, in a ding dong battle that saw the Finn eventually overhaul the Force India driver around the outside of Turn Two. An impressive display of driving from the Lotus driver that has seen him complete every lap of every race this season.

The Toro Rosso driver, Jean-Eric Vergne was the first casualty of the race, bringing out a yellow flag on lap 16 due to suspension damage, while Webber joined him a lap later with an alternator failure.

Lap 22 saw the first round of pitstops and Hamilton was the first to pit after dropping 3 seconds behind Vettel. Raikkonen had a slow stop due to a problem with the right rear and once back on track struggled to keep Daniel Ricciardo behind him. With his tyres up to temperature a few laps later, he made a pass on Massa into the blind apex of Turn One to go 6th.

By lap 34, Hamilton was within half a second of leader Vettel, while Button had miraculously got up to 3rd, although 25 seconds behind after not having pitted. After his stop he rejoined in 7th.

Massa continued his fine late season form and looking to get on the podium overtook Raikkonen with a well executed manoeuvre around the outside of Turn Two for 4th.

Hamilton finally got past Vettel with the help of traffic, as the McLaren driver used his DRS to close on the Red Bull on the long straight, then took the outside line to get in the lead. Button was also showing his world class driving skills with great car control as he managed to move up a place to 5th, disposing of Raikkonen around the outside of Turn Twelve.

Pastor Maldonado nearly took his team-mate, Bruno Senna out as the Venezuelan showed another of his risky moves moving up to 9th at Turn One.

Alonso was running in 3rd, 35 seconds behind leader Hamilton as he looked to take the title battle to the last round in Brazil.

Lewis Hamilton took his 4th victory of the season in a fine drive to the chequered flag at the Circuit of the Americas, with Sebastian Vettel 2nd and Fernando Alonso 3rd.

  1. Lewis Hamilton
  2. Sebastian Vettel
  3. Fernando Alonso
  4. Felipe Massa
  5. Jenson Button
  6. Kimi Raikkonen
  7. Romain Grosjean
  8. Nico Hulkenberg
  9. Pastor Maldonado
  10. Bruno Senna
  11. Sergio Perez
  12. Daniel Ricciardo
  13. Nico Rosberg
  14. Kamui Kobayashi
  15. Paul Di Resta
  16. Michael Schumacher
  17. Vitaly Petrov
  18. Heikki Kovalainen
  19. Timo Glock
  20. Charles Pic
  21. Pedro de la Rosa
  22. Narain Karthikeyan