Jaguar X-type Reviews

Average Rating
4.0
posted 11 hours ago Phil Loker
2.8
" Cheap to buy but not cheap to maintain. Mine is the 2.0 tdci engine and has suffered with injectors being replaced every 50000 miles, egr valve trouble which causes the engine to cut out. Clutch went at 99000 etc,etc,etc. I would just buy another diesel like the pre 2010 Volvo C30/s40 much better more reliable cars as a whole "
Performance
Handling
Driving Experience
Value For Money
Space
Build Quality
Safety and Security
posted 2 days ago Michael Connell
3.4
" Reversing sensors are a common fault repair costs are high. That said it has a very good ride comfort,good MPG and reliability. "
Performance
Handling
Driving Experience
Value For Money
Space
Build Quality
Safety and Security
posted 9 days ago Anthony Whicker
4.4
" I have owned this x type jaguar for 10 years,it is very reliable,very economical&very clean running,it is solid&built like a tank&i just hope i can keep it another 10 years without anymore laws that demonise our very good diesel engined cars. "
Performance
Handling
Driving Experience
Value For Money
Space
Build Quality
Safety and Security
posted 21 days ago Wendy Williams
4.4
" I was in love with my X Type. My baby went to Jag heaven in June last year. She was brilliant, a dream to drive, beautiful bodywork and outstanding paintwork after so many years on the road. "
Performance
Handling
Driving Experience
Value For Money
Space
Build Quality
Safety and Security
posted 28 days ago Gary Swift
4.0
" You can pick these cars up for very little money, these days, but buyer beware – Get [if possible genuine Jaguar] service history, the nicest condition, and lowest possible miles you can. Some can rot uncontrollably on floor and sills, so check carefully. My son's X-Type was as rotten as a peach, but mine (which is older) has no signs of rust at all (luck of the draw or good maintenance? Who knows..?). Can be quite juicy around town, especially if you have a lead-weighted right foot, which my son has. Better on long runs, though, especially if keeping to the speed limits, etc., which my son doesn’t. I believe I'm getting about 35+ per gallon on long runs. However, who buys a 3-litre automatic Jag for the economy? Very comfortable to drive and still feel fresh after those longer runs. Limited leg room in the back, however, hence the 4-stars for space, but as I'm not very tall I can put my seat forward to make more room for the rear-passenger’s legs, as there is plenty of extra room in the front (both sides, of course). Genuine Jaguar parts & repairs can be crippling to the wallet, so choose your garage and parts source wisely. However, all that said, I wouldn't want to change to anything else, especially to any of the 'overrated' and ‘overpriced’ German rubbish I have had in the past (Mercedes especially). My X-Type is over 15 years old and it still looks extremely good all round; and it's parked on the drive in all weathers. It's got 4x4, so can be used in all weathers and most terrains (I live on a steep hill, which gets icy (no problem), and I've also managed to get out of a mud-bogged car motor showground carpark with ease, leaving everyone else struggling and getting covered in mud). Parts are cheaper than most, as it shares most of its running gear with the Mondeo (but don't let that put you off, it's still a Jaaaaag). For example, I have just bought a full set of discs and pads, both front & rear, from a local Motor Factors, for just a little over £80. If you're thinking of getting one do the research on it first, or get an AA/RAC inspection, before uncurling your well-earned cash! Get the right one and you will be a very happy bunny with a big fat grin! "
Performance
Handling
Driving Experience
Value For Money
Space
Build Quality
Safety and Security
posted 1 month ago john kerr
3.4
" good car but not cheap to maintain or run lucky to get 40 mls/gallon solid big car plenty of room and looks good too "
Performance
Handling
Driving Experience
Value For Money
Space
Build Quality
Safety and Security
posted 1 month ago James Forrest
4.4
" Car is 9 years old. I have owned it for six. It has never put a foot wrong is economical 57mpg on s long run. Comfortable and has a respectable turn of speed when required. I love it and do not plan to sell it. It's a keeper. "
Performance
Handling
Driving Experience
Value For Money
Space
Build Quality
Safety and Security
posted 1 month ago Anthony Whicker
4.4
" My 2008 x type jaguar is an exellent car,very economical,&very reliable,it's a 2 litre diesel&is very clean running,i just cannot understand why there is so much fuss being made about these lovely diesels in jaguars,there are systems to fit to the engine to make them even cleaner running but this government does not want to know! they just want every one to drive a stupid battery car just to get their figures down. "
Performance
Handling
Driving Experience
Value For Money
Space
Build Quality
Safety and Security
posted 4 months ago John Emerson
4.0
" Great car love the driving experience "
Performance
Handling
Driving Experience
Value For Money
Space
Build Quality
Safety and Security
posted 4 months ago David Selley Selley
4.1
" i am 72 years old, and this is probably the best car I have owned "
Performance
Handling
Driving Experience
Value For Money
Space
Build Quality
Safety and Security